06
Dec
10

Bright lights, big telly

I’ve not written in a while. There is a reason for that. For the past month or so, our monitor would randomly switch off. About 10 days ago, it became more frequent. We weren’t sure if it was a problem with the monitor or our graphics card (or if we had some weird monitor killing virus). In the end, it turned out to be our monitor, and it wouldn’t stay on for more than 12 seconds. This didn’t keep Mr Moggs from using the computer, although using it required more time and more swear words to do the things he needed to get done.

So we talked about notebooks or netbooks. We were planning on buying them before all the recent extra expenses came up in the autumn, and we revived that idea, at least in part. However, we had a perfectly good, small telly that could work for a monitor. We could get a new (bigger) telly and use the small one for a monitor. So we went off to Croydon to look for bargains and found one in the form of a 32 inch wide-screen which Mr Moggs lugged home in the ice and rain (which only began AFTER we bought the telly). It’s the biggest friggen telly I’ve ever owned. It scares me when I walk into the living room sometimes. It also scares me to think that a lot of people would consider it “mid-sized”.

Maybe I should give some background. I am not someone who really hates television. I actually love it, maybe too much. I guess that is why when it was up to me to supply the telly for myself, I either went without or used small cast offs (my grandfather’s portable black and white from the 1960s, an ex’s old 13 inch colour computer monitor from the early 1980s). At one point after Mr Moggs and I married, I had a 5 inch black and white telly that we used to watch in bed with it resting on Mr Moggs’ chest. I guess I always thought that if it was small enough, a big enough pain to watch, or the picture was crap enough I would do something more productive when possible. Or if not, at least I wouldn’t be enjoy wasting time with it too much.

Now we have this massive thing, and it calls to me. Everything is a bit brighter, a bit clearer, and a lot more mesmerising on it. It makes me feel a bit queasy, but I don’t really dislike it. In fact, I am glad we’ve got it. It’s big, it’s beautiful, and people won’t mistake it for a computer monitor like they did our old telly (which is now, of course, fulfilling that destiny as a monitor).

In time I am sure it will become normal to me, almost the same way that the little 5 inch telly became normal. In a way, I think it’s actually good for me to exercise my discipline with it. I might even get more done because I will be more careful about switching it on. At least that is what I tell myself.

0 Responses to “Bright lights, big telly”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

All text and images ©Molly Moggs 2009-2011 unless otherwise noted. All rights reserved. No unauthorised re-use.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Categories


