04
May
11

Waiting…

Every time I’ve submitted an application for a visa or extension of stay, it seems to cue a longer wait time for everyone. Or maybe it’s that I am a part of some huge immigrant hive-mind, and we all decide to submit applications at once, clogging the system up.

Every day for weeks I wait for the postie to drop an invitation to book a citizenship ceremony, and every day I am disappointed. Two weeks ago, we even broke down and called the Home Office. I never called about applications before. It’s not like they can actually tell you anything of meaning about your application. I guess I was just hoping for them to tell me that I had been approved, and that I hadn’t heard yet because they send the approvals through second class post (what the heck is up with that).

I can’t do anything that doesn’t involve waiting in some way. Last week at the royal wedding parties we attended, I was also waiting to hear about my citizenship application. When I found out that the US had killed Osama Bin Laden, I was also waiting for my application to be approved. It’s always in the back of my mind, and while I am trying to be patient (and appreciate how privileged I am to even get the chance to wait for my BC application to go through), it’s hard.

I shouldn’t have told anyone that I applied. Now, everyone asks if there is any news, which is sweet and shows concern, but it’s hard to read the response. Most Brits think it’s a fairly quick process (and compared to some countries, it is), that it’s free (or close enough to free), and that it’s just a matter of asking. Of course, it’s not, but I guess it’s not up to me to constantly show it’s not.

So I am going to go back to drinking coffee (and waiting). Later, I am going to mow our lawn (and wait). When I hear something, you will be among the first to know.

0 Responses to “Waiting…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

All text and images ©Molly Moggs 2009-2011 unless otherwise noted. All rights reserved. No unauthorised re-use.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Categories


